Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26
  1. #1
    Flight Cadet chessmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    98
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Reputation Points (Add)
    0

    On screen display help!

    So I got the Max7456 hooked up to my arduino mega v 2.1 as it shows in the wiki. The problem is that When I try it the screen is just black! I have uploaded the software with it but I havent done the font update? Is that required, if it is how do you do it? Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Flight Cadet chessmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    98
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Reputation Points (Add)
    0
    I will put some pictures up in the morning

  3. #3
    AeroQuad Technologist q6600's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    337
    Blog Entries
    3
    Downloads
    3
    Uploads
    0
    Reputation Points (Add)
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by chessmaster View Post
    So I got the Max7456 hooked up to my arduino mega v 2.1 as it shows in the wiki. The problem is that When I try it the screen is just black! I have uploaded the software with it but I havent done the font update? Is that required, if it is how do you do it? Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks
    The font upload is required. load the sketch in the max7456 folder using the arduino IDE and then open serial monitor, you should see a prompt. after completing the font upload, load AQ once again, you don't need to re calibrate.

    This is probably not the cause of your black screen, post macro pics
    Last edited by q6600; 12-29-2012 at 10:02 AM.
    Y6 - A-2836/9 880kv, 12"x3.8" APC, UHF tx/rx, GoPro1, 900mhz vtx, MaxSonar, AQ OSD w/ current sensor & GPS
    Quad+ - A-2836/9 880kv, 12"x3.8" APC, UHF tx/rx, dx201 camera, 900mhz vtx, MaxSonar, AQ OSD, current sensor
    QuadX - BP A2217-9 950KV, 12"x3.8" APC, 9x receiver, GoPro1, 1.2ghz vtx, MaxSonar, AQ OSD, current sensor

  4. #4
    Flight Cadet chessmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    98
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Reputation Points (Add)
    0
    Name:  photo 1.JPG
Views: 301
Size:  125.0 KBName:  photo 2.JPG
Views: 318
Size:  98.0 KB

    Here are the pictures. Also yes I know its not connected to the gopro. When I was testing last night it was pluged in and it didnt work. There also is a resistor running from +5v to rst. Let me know if I need to take more pictures. Also I tested my fpv setup and it does work so I know it has to be something here with the OSD.
    Thanks

  5. #5
    AeroQuad Technologist q6600's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    337
    Blog Entries
    3
    Downloads
    3
    Uploads
    0
    Reputation Points (Add)
    0
    It looks like you have the video in/out in the wrong places, I've marked the right place in green.
    I would bypass the max7456 for video ground, are you using a separate battery for FPV or everything from main lipo?
    I hope this helps

    Name:  photo 1.jpg
Views: 315
Size:  107.7 KB
    Y6 - A-2836/9 880kv, 12"x3.8" APC, UHF tx/rx, GoPro1, 900mhz vtx, MaxSonar, AQ OSD w/ current sensor & GPS
    Quad+ - A-2836/9 880kv, 12"x3.8" APC, UHF tx/rx, dx201 camera, 900mhz vtx, MaxSonar, AQ OSD, current sensor
    QuadX - BP A2217-9 950KV, 12"x3.8" APC, 9x receiver, GoPro1, 1.2ghz vtx, MaxSonar, AQ OSD, current sensor

  6. #6
    AeroQuad Technologist q6600's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    337
    Blog Entries
    3
    Downloads
    3
    Uploads
    0
    Reputation Points (Add)
    0
    keep in mind that the MAX7456 uses quite a bit of juice.
    if you are using other 5v devices (receiver, etc..) i recommend you use one of the ESC BEC (servo/camera pins on shield) to power the OSD
    Y6 - A-2836/9 880kv, 12"x3.8" APC, UHF tx/rx, GoPro1, 900mhz vtx, MaxSonar, AQ OSD w/ current sensor & GPS
    Quad+ - A-2836/9 880kv, 12"x3.8" APC, UHF tx/rx, dx201 camera, 900mhz vtx, MaxSonar, AQ OSD, current sensor
    QuadX - BP A2217-9 950KV, 12"x3.8" APC, 9x receiver, GoPro1, 1.2ghz vtx, MaxSonar, AQ OSD, current sensor

  7. #7
    Moderator AeroQuad Core Software Developer kha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Espoo, Finland
    Posts
    2,033
    Blog Entries
    2
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Reputation Points (Add)
    12
    Is the rst pin connected to +5v?

    --kha via mobile
    quad(X)1: AQ + mega + v2 shield (with baro) + turnigy plush 30A + Turnigy 2217 + APC 12x3.8 (camera onboard)
    quad(X)2: AQ32 at Baloo / DJI F450 / A2212-12 / 30A ESC:s / 10x4.5 (camera onboard)
    quad(X)3: Naze32 / DJI F330 / RCTimer 2212-9 / Aeolian 20A / 8x4.5
    Generic: Turnigy 9x with telemetry mods with FrSky 2Way, GoPro Hero HD, 1.3 & 5.8 vTx

  8. #8
    Flight Cadet chessmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    98
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Reputation Points (Add)
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kha View Post
    Is the rst pin connected to +5v?

    --kha via mobile
    I have a resistor between the +5 volt and the rst pin on the max. All the pins are hooked in the correct place.

    I will move the video line to the other spot. Im using a seprate battery to power my fpv setup. Should I remove the ground wire from the video line?

    "i recommend you use one of the ESC BEC (servo/camera pins on shield) to power the OSD"

    How should I do that? Could you clarify more, please.

    Thanks

  9. #9
    Flight Cadet chessmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    98
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Reputation Points (Add)
    0
    I can rewire it so that its all powered off one battery, if that makes it easier?

  10. #10
    AeroQuad Technologist q6600's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    337
    Blog Entries
    3
    Downloads
    3
    Uploads
    0
    Reputation Points (Add)
    0
    Your pins and resistor look alright but since you are using two lipos keep the video ground wires where they are (the ones i marked in white), only move the video in/out to the correct places. That should get you video.

    when it's all working we'll come back to my ESC BEC comment
    Y6 - A-2836/9 880kv, 12"x3.8" APC, UHF tx/rx, GoPro1, 900mhz vtx, MaxSonar, AQ OSD w/ current sensor & GPS
    Quad+ - A-2836/9 880kv, 12"x3.8" APC, UHF tx/rx, dx201 camera, 900mhz vtx, MaxSonar, AQ OSD, current sensor
    QuadX - BP A2217-9 950KV, 12"x3.8" APC, 9x receiver, GoPro1, 1.2ghz vtx, MaxSonar, AQ OSD, current sensor


 
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •