Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Recruit
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    26
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Reputation Points (Add)
    0

    Mega 2560 Serial comms issue

    Hi there , I've built (and flown/crashed/rebuilt) my Quad, all was going quite well until recently.
    I tried to add OSD which didn't work for some reason, so removed that.
    I have an Xbee which works just fine (after setting baud to 111111).
    The problem I have now is that I can upload flight software via USB/serial no problem. I can connect to quad with Xbee serial BUT I cannot connect via USB/Serial, I have the jumper switches on the Xbee set correctly, all bauds are ok. It just does not want to connect.
    Have I damaged my Arduino somehow ? It's very frustrating. Is there a way to test the Arduino connection outside of configurator that I could try ? All my drivers etc haven't changed and I'm having this problem on both a netbook and my main PC.

  2. #2
    Senior Pilot
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Owensboro, KY.
    Posts
    401
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Reputation Points (Add)
    0
    Just a Question to help find your problem.
    Can you upload to the Mega from the Arduino Compiler?

    The Arduino compiler also has a serial commutations utility. (the magnifying glass in the upper right corner.)

    Hope that is some help in finding your problem.

  3. #3
    New Recruit
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    26
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Reputation Points (Add)
    0
    I can, I uploaded blink in an attempt to test the arduino, the issue isn't uploading (can do this fine via configurator on USb) it appears to be about reading from the arduino via serial(USB).

  4. #4
    Senior Pilot wooden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    4,581
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    Reputation Points (Add)
    27
    Can you communicate with the Mega2560 using the Arduino Serial Monitor?

  5. #5
    New Recruit
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    26
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Reputation Points (Add)
    0
    I've realised I'm going through similar issues to several other posters, I've discovered I can communicate at 56 but not at 115k , oddly nothing had changed exempt the addition of the xbee, I reverted to pre xbee config but same. doing my head in now.

  6. #6
    New Recruit
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    26
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Reputation Points (Add)
    0
    I didn't answer your question, sorry! No but I tried the serial comms sketch in the Arduino and got the dialogue, so got to be the aeroquad code?

  7. #7
    New Recruit
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    26
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Reputation Points (Add)
    0
    I disabled the internal pull up, thanks to this post
    http://aeroquad.com/showthread.php?4...-v3-0-2/page14
    set my baud to 111111 for USB and that now works. unfortunatley during all the messing around I attached Vin and Gnd back to front and have killed the power to the board via anything other than USB , so off to the store for a new mega..


 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •