PDA

View Full Version : Help understanding motor & ESC ratings

Nate
05-15-2010, 12:36 AM
Hello,

I'm hoping someone can help me to better understand the ratings on ESC's and motors. My background is in computer science & robotics, so I'm used to working with similar devices, but the ratings and designations on hobby class equipment is slightly different than what I'm familiar with. The tutorials have been great in suggesting specific models, but I really need to understand the reasoning behind these choices, so that's why I've come here.

Right now, I'm having trouble with the ratings given to hobby class motors, which I will be using on my quadcopter. For reference, I am interested in building a 'heavy lifter' class copter, as I will be adding an additional board for a camera and LIDAR unit later down the road. I don't expect to tack on too much weight, but I'd rather have the extra lifting ability if I need it. My quadcopter will eventually be working as a team with an autonomous personnel carrier to provide navigation data.

Here is what I need help with:
1) I see motors listed in 'classes' for helicopters and planes. It seems to go from 100 to 600, and I can infer that this relates to the size of the vehicle. I'm not sure how to translate this into my quadcopter, though. I assume that I should ignore the 'class' and focus on the Amperage and KV ratings?

2) For the ESC: should the continuous current output of the ESC be higher than the max amount of current that the motor can draw?

3) Back to the motors, I have seen a multitude of KV ratings. From what I have read it seems that the 1000Kv range is best for quadcopters. Is this correct?

4) What Amp and KV ratings would be a good motor choice for my 'heavy lifter' quadcopter?

Here is the ESC I am considering. Not sure if it will be overkill or not, but the price is great. If I can find decent motors on this same site that would be great too. Otherwise I'll buy from HobbyKing.