PDA

View Full Version : How do you mount a GoPro?



Nikotine
08-12-2011, 01:47 PM
Hi,

My GoPro arrived today. I bought the naked version, because I hoped there would at least be one mount which I could screw onto the quad or something. Well... Naked really is without anything. How do you guys mount your GoPro on your quad?

kha
08-12-2011, 04:48 PM
Fast way is to use a thick rubberband a few rounds around. This can be used with bare GoPro and also by wrapping the band around the GoPro mount 'pedestal'.

Kenny9999
08-12-2011, 06:00 PM
I use velcro!

https://picasaweb.google.com/108324292739955298042/Y6FrameAndPPMEncoder#5633423157774146754

not the best solution, but, velcro and ziptie are my friend and it work great

Nikotine
08-12-2011, 06:30 PM
Wow, cable management issue :-)
Velcro, will try that.

Kenny9999
08-12-2011, 06:32 PM
Yeah, I change configuration, and part too often and I'm too lazy to cut any cable!

Airwolf
08-12-2011, 06:58 PM
I don't know if you are also looking for a mount with roll/nick stabilization, if yes, that's my way to mount my GoPro:

EQ1
08-12-2011, 07:19 PM
Nice, but a little too heavy for small quads, I think. I use the following: http://www.immersionsflug.de/Pan-Tilt-Halterung-GoPro-HD-Kamera

Nikotine
08-12-2011, 08:14 PM
Thanks EQ1, will bookmark that one.
But it will be used for fpv so I want it to tilt and roll with the quad.

Kenny9999
08-12-2011, 08:15 PM
if you're gonna do FPV, you rather have it fixed to the ship, no pan an tilt!

Nikotine
08-12-2011, 08:19 PM
That's what I mean :-)
I don't want it to compensate for roll and pitch, I want it fixed indeed.

EQ1
08-12-2011, 08:31 PM
I'm using it for FPV. I have a XGYRO1000 Headtracker with PPM-mixer through channels 7+8 going to this mount. I thought this was what you wanted. I like to do some sightseeing like being a passenger or pilot ... :)

Nikotine
08-12-2011, 08:52 PM
Wow, will have to look into that. For now I need it fixed.
Shouldn't the gopro naked come with one adhesive mount? According to the gopro official site it should.
I've sent a mail to the webshop I bought it from.

wilafau
08-12-2011, 09:51 PM
Airwolf - where did you get those landing skids - I've been looking for some tall ones like these. Since you've centered the camera mount under the quad I am curious how you mounted your battery? Any problem with the skids being in the GoPro's field of view?