PDA

View Full Version : My old Octoquad!

Stuart 73
07-05-2011, 07:59 PM
Here's a video of my octoquad that i have been flying now for about 9 months,
i haven't had chance until now to video it flying, to busy flying! and building new quads!
A bit windy 10-15mph but pretty stable, only using version 1.7 shield, flight software can't remember! i haven't updated software on this quad for nearly a year now! i'll have to look into it,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Eoi0zDItHc

ziisco
07-05-2011, 10:47 PM
looks good! are u using separate PWMs and X in plus mode or just Y splitters on 4 pwm outs?

Stuart 73
07-06-2011, 02:28 PM
I'm using splitters on 4 pwm outputs in + mode!

Nikotine
07-06-2011, 02:42 PM
The battery on my quad is drained after about 10 mins. If you're flying an octo, can't you only just fly 5 minutes or so? Or do you use an extra battery in parallel because you have more lifting power anyway?

Stuart 73
07-06-2011, 03:32 PM
I'm getting around 10-12mins flying time on a 5000mah battery! because the motors are about half the power of the normal motors that i use, at hover each motor uses about 3amps so total at hover about 24amps! the octo weights 2kg and hovers at one third of the throttle, this quad is not used for heavy lifting i have got another one that i use for that which uses 4 770w motors with 14 inch props which produces 12kg of trust and only weights 2.5kg!

hokie1999
07-11-2011, 08:48 PM
Question: What is the advantage of eight motors? Is is a smoother flight, more lift, what?

itod
07-11-2011, 09:30 PM
Question: What is the advantage of eight motors? Is is a smoother flight, more lift, what?

More lift so you can fly with bigger camera, and (probably more important) redundancy - you can finish the flight with something in the one line ESC-motor-propeller broken. In theory you can even fly with two motors dead if they are not on the same side of the copter, but I haven't seen the video of something like that.

Honk
07-12-2011, 03:27 AM