PDA

View Full Version : Foam Quad For your viewing pleasure

OldGeek
05-04-2011, 06:01 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HPfYDv0o31c

Trying different home-made frames out and I'm a horrible pilot!

Cheers,

-don

KirAsh4
05-04-2011, 06:35 AM
Nice flight, looks pretty stable except for the occasional oscillations, but as you said, you need to do some minor tuning still. In your video description, you say you're powering the motors separate from the Mega & Shield. What made you do that? I think the consensus here is that you ought to power everything from the same power pack ...

goodwind
05-04-2011, 06:41 AM
nice frame! How well the foam absorbs shocks? Deforms at impact?

btw i`m powering arduino separate too - don`t know why, just "i want it that waayy" :D

OldGeek
05-04-2011, 06:48 AM
Nice flight, looks pretty stable except for the occasional oscillations, but as you said, you need to do some minor tuning still. In your video description, you say you're powering the motors separate from the Mega & Shield. What made you do that? I think the consensus here is that you ought to power everything from the same power pack ...

Thanks, I did it following the recommendation on the wiki; keeps the Arduino running cooler...

http://aeroquad.com/showwiki.php?title=Hardware+Assembly+-+Power+Distribution

Arduino power source
Although using the main battery for providing power to the Arduino is fine, it is recommended to use a separate battery, such as a small capacity 7.4v Lipo, to do so. This will ensure a clean power source for the Arduino and also reduce the heat generated by its onboard voltage regulator. A good such battery is the Rhino 610mAh or 460mAh 7.4v Lipo from HobbyKing, each costing around $4.

lokling
05-04-2011, 06:50 AM
Nice, how is it affected by wind - and what type of foam did you use?

OldGeek
05-04-2011, 06:54 AM
nice frame! How well the foam absorbs shocks? Deforms at impact?