PDA

View Full Version : Broom Stick Quad flight video

David Canfield
11-13-2010, 10:15 PM
Hi all!

I am new to this forum and new to Quad copters.

I have been flying helicopters and airplanes for about five years. I bought a Gaui quad two weeks ago but was not happy with the over all size and stability. I cam across this sight doing a Google search and happy that i did. It was nice to see that with a little money and a little inspiration you can build a better quad frame.

I built my frame with the 4-way pvc connector and broom handles. I used Grey pvc pipe clamps to mount the pvc weather proof top. I used a foot peddle from my no longer used jet catapult system for a battery mount. Each arm is 9 3/4 inches in length.

I am around 1200 grams with the included landing platform. I am starting to work with a photographer using a 90 size electric heli for Aerial video. He would like to do inside work so i think a bigger heavy lifting quad may be the answer.

I bought t-rex 600 booms and bigger motors and esc's for a larger size quad. I also plan on buying the electronics from the site.

Here is a link for the video i shot with my damaged go pro camera(chipped lens). Sorry i had the camera aimed too high, hard to judge with the camera on your head what is centered.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uYr0DlC31tw

Dave

RCvertt
11-15-2010, 03:41 AM
...I built my frame with the 4-way pvc connector and broom handles. I used Grey pvc pipe clamps to mount the pvc weather proof top. I used a foot peddle from my no longer used jet catapult system for a battery mount. Each arm is 9 3/4 inches in length...

Hi.
I like the parts list you used for your DIY frame! So that's the gaui controller in the video?

David Canfield
11-15-2010, 10:40 PM
Yes it is the gaui gyro unit. It seams to work, fly well. It is a nice unit for a plug and play quad.