PDA

View Full Version : Stable mode w/ Wii and baro



Honk
10-06-2010, 09:17 PM
Stable Mode needs tuning and I'm changing a bit in the barometer altitude hold algorithm. I found myself to stay at a very low manual throttle which in flight resulted in I term for alt hold to top out, thus controlling the upper limit was done quite manually, but I've improved that now.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pBfEDtQIXGU

Are those fast small oscillations seen in the beginning what the rate D is supposed to eliminate in stable mode?

lokling
10-06-2010, 09:36 PM
Nice! Time for me to copy your PIDs and give it a try I think!

Honk
10-06-2010, 09:48 PM
Thanks! But I'm not happy with either stable mode and alt hold yet, but it's a good enough starting point I guess.

Here are the PID's used in the vid:

DCM P: 0.085
DCM I: 0.000003

gyro smooth: 0.95
acc smooth: 0.92

yaw P: 6
yaw I: 0.05

acc P: 1.05
acc I: 0.65

rate P: 1.25
rate D: -10.00

baro smooth: 0.03
baro P: 55
baro I: 15

That's "it".

lokling
10-06-2010, 10:26 PM
I just want to get a reasonably stable ballpark number so I can get my quad up in the air at the 2.X code. Flight tests tomorrow.

Kenny9999
10-06-2010, 11:13 PM
At least, you don't have hurt yourself this time :)

Honk
10-06-2010, 11:27 PM
Actually I did hurt myself pretty bad but cut that part out. It was going for the 500 dollar furniture (don't ask) and I had to correct, resulting in it coming towards me, and of course I had to stop it using my arm... Got a pretty nasty wound that has popped up about 0.5cm, being 3.5cm cross over. Looking really nasty! Now it has started to come out nasty liquids. I REALLY need to make a test arrangement with a line from the roof or make some protection structure around the arms.

By the way, I just tuned a bit more. The new baro algorithm seem to work better and also an important factor to why it may have wanted to go off level MIGHT have been the transmitter settings. Tuned down transmitter factor and the transmitter filter for Roll/Pitch. Seems to work better now although I made other changes.

Kenny9999
10-06-2010, 11:41 PM
Lol, you should do your test with a hockey gaoler suit!

Honk
10-07-2010, 12:02 AM
Hehe, well, I still believe more in a test stand/wire from roof...

Here's some pics that might be of interest:
http://img163.imageshack.us/img163/3783/img2386c.jpg
http://img689.imageshack.us/img689/5412/img2385fj.jpg
http://img42.imageshack.us/img42/4247/img2382k.jpg
http://img580.imageshack.us/img580/8924/img2381c.jpg
http://img291.imageshack.us/img291/4273/img2370k.jpg
http://img828.imageshack.us/img828/9570/img2363fy.jpg
http://img833.imageshack.us/img833/6537/img2327z.jpg
http://img3.imageshack.us/img3/6531/img2407gk.jpg

RCvertt
10-07-2010, 03:20 AM
...Here's some pics that might be of interest...Looking really good there.

Would it help to put some landing gear on it to help keep it level when you do a manual calibration?


Actually I did hurt myself pretty bad but cut that part out...Aww come on. It'll be a good reminder for the rest of us.

lokling
10-07-2010, 06:24 AM
Actually I did hurt myself pretty bad but cut that part out.

Ouch! You just motivated me to get that simulation done soon. You cant keep going at this rate or there will be nothing left of you by xmas!

Honk
10-09-2010, 01:49 AM
Thanks :) I was afraid you were gonna criticize my soldering which I put half my soul into :P

RC, YOU NAILED IT! Damn it, I thought I could just do one manual calibration through the Configurator while battery removed and I would be fine. So I flew with that several times. But OH MY, when I put a landing gear on today and got out in the cold and wind still night, I manually calibrated it standing on the new landing gear, ALL STABLE!!! So that was all that was wrong with the flight in the vid!

Also I made a increase on the DCM P from 0.087 to 0.089 and I from XXXX3 to XXXX5 before and the ArtificialHorizon actually seemed a little better/snappier.

It got so stable I didn't have to correct much at all like in the video. Baro was not 100% stabilizing outside now because I found out my manual throttle is far to sensitive, and it's giving too much gain to the motors, and I can't change gain proportion between radio and barometer since the barometer is too slow. So now I have softened up my throttle stick and going to put expo (if I can!) or just trim it down hoping for the best.

But seriously, manually calibrating it made my day!


Tomorrow I'm gonna attend my first outside event ever with the quad outside my back yard (a nitro heli school) so then I'll probably have some interesting footage (both FPV and standard video).

This is my new landing gear and setup:
http://www4.mediafire.com/imgbnc.php/f902ba806c848626449ed9aa6af320945g.jpg (http://www.mediafire.com/imageview.php?quickkey=2dm1cd3qyfocfck&thumb=4)
http://www3.mediafire.com/imgbnc.php/96d577378d31db7e0808d5909fb8db945g.jpg (http://www.mediafire.com/imageview.php?quickkey=cmot40rme0g16t1&thumb=4)

RCvertt
10-09-2010, 07:04 AM
...It got so stable I didn't have to correct much at all...Sounds great. That baro sounds like a nice addition. Keep up the good work.